Rigoberto González appointed editor of award-winning Camino del Sol series

Rigoberto González appointed editor of award-winning Camino del Sol series

Nov. 12, 2020

The University of Arizona Press recently announced Rigoberto González editorship of its Camino del Sol Series. The award-winning and critically acclaimed series of poetry, fiction, and essays publishes emerging and established voices in Latinx literature, such as Juan Felipe Herrera, Carmen Giménez Smith, Luis Alberto Urrea, Richard Blanco, Alberto Ríos, Pat Mora, Tim Z. Hernandez, Emmy Pérez, and Francisco X. Alarcón.

González is the author of eighteen books of poetry and prose. His awards include Guggenheim, NEA, NYFA, and USA Rolón fellowships, the PEN/Voelcker Award, the American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation, the Lenore Marshall Prize from the Academy of American Poets, and the Shelley Memorial Prize from the Poetry Society of America. A critic-at-large for The LA Times and contributing editor for Poets & Writers Magazine, he is currently Distinguished Professor of English and Director of the MFA Program in Creative Writing at Rutgers-Newark, the State University of New Jersey.

“Camino del Sol has been essential to our Latinx literary legacy. For over 25 years this series has provided a home for the stories and voices that amplify, celebrate, and nuance the diverse experiences of our communities,” González said.

“I owe much of my college literary education to the books published by the University of Arizona Press, and in the same spirit of service to all readers, I am honored to continue its mission to seek out and highlight the remarkable work of both seasoned and promising Latinx writers.”

Kathryn Conrad, director of the University of Arizona Press, said González’ editorship and the caliber of the Camino del Sol advisory board furthers the Press’s mission to center Latinx and Indigenous literary voices.

“The University of Arizona Press is one of the first publishers to spotlight Latinx literary voices. We are honored Rigoberto has joined us to grow and care for this important series.”

The Camino del Sol series advisory board includes Francisco Cantú, Sandra Cisneros, Eduardo C. Corral, Jennine Capó Crucet, Angie Cruz, Natalie Diaz, Aracelis Girmay, Ada Limón, Jaime Manrique, Justin Torres, Luis Alberto Urrea, and Helena María Viramontes.

“With a spectacular Advisory Board composed of this country’s most notable talent in American letters, I expect Camino del Sol will maintain its exceptional reputation and to rise into further prominence by reflecting the growth and changes in our cultural and political landscapes,” González said.

Urayoán Noel‘s forthcoming poetry collection Transversal will be the first book under González’ editorship.